top of page

Eastern Catholic "denominations".


Eastern Catholic Churches:

Further information: Eastern Catholic Churches

All of the following are particular churches of the Catholic Church. They are all in communion with the Pope as Bishop of Rome and acknowledge his claim of universal jurisdiction and authority. They have some minor distinct theological emphases and expressions (for instance, in the case of those that are of Greek/Byzantine tradition, concerning some non-doctrinal aspects of the Latin view of Purgatory).[24] The Eastern Catholic Churches and the Latin Church (which together compose the worldwide Catholic Church) supposedly share the same doctrine and sacraments, and thus supposedly the same faith. The total membership of the churches accounts for approximately 18 million members.

Alexandrian Rite:

Main article: Alexandrian Rite .


Armenian Rite

Main article: Armenian Rite.


Byzantine Rite:


Main article: Byzantine Rite.


East Syriac Rite:


Main article: East Syriac Rite.


West Syriac Rite:


Main article: West Syriac Rite.

bottom of page