top of page

Oriental Orthodoxy "denominations"


Oriental Orthodoxy:

Further information: Oriental Orthodoxy

Oriental Orthodoxy comprises those Christians who did not accept the Council of Chalcedon in 451.[19] Other denominations often erroneously label these churches "Monophysite"; however, as the Oriental Orthodox do not adhere to the teachings of Eutyches, they themselves reject this label, preferring the term Miaphysite. Some of these churches, especially the Coptic Orthodox Church of Alexandria claim origination by Saint Mark and his 1st-century missionary journeys.[20]


Historically, many of the Oriental Orthodox churches consider themselves collectively to be the One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic Church that Christ founded. Some have considered the Oriental Orthodox communion to be a part of the One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic Church, a view which is gaining increasing acceptance in the wake of ecumenical dialogues. Oriental Orthodoxy forms the fourth largest communion of Christian churches, with approximately 76 million members.

The Oriental Orthodox communion is composed of six autocephalous churches:


1) the Coptic Orthodox Church of Alexandria,

2) the Syriac Orthodox Church of Antioch,

3) the Armenian Apostolic Church,

4) the Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church,

5) the Eritrean Orthodox Tewahedo Church, and

6) the Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church.[6] 


Collectively, they consider themselves to be the One, Holy, Catholic, and Apostolic church founded by Jesus Christ in his Great Commission, and that its bishops are the successors of Christ's apostles. Most member churches are part of the World Council of Churches. All member churches share a virtually identical theology, with the distinguishing feature being Miaphysitism. Three very different rites are practiced in the communion: the western-influenced Armenian Rite, the West Syrian Rite of the two Syriac churches, and the Alexandrian Rite of the Copts, Ethiopians and Eritreans.

At the Council of Chalcedon in 451 AD, the Oriental Orthodox churches separated from the Orthodox Church, primarily over differences in Christology.


Autonomous churches under their respective autocephalous mother church are indented.

bottom of page